My August Reading Goals

August is finally here! Which means the end of summer holidays has come (at least for me). Not many of you know, but I’m currently an IB student, which means I don’t have lots of free time. I’ve had to lower my reading goal up to 25 books this year. Also, having to read very tedious books for school last year got me into one of the biggest reading slumps I’ve ever been on. However, this summer, thanks to my beloved cousin Sofia, I could get over the slump and get back to reading.

Last month I read only 3 books, which wasn’t so bad considering all that happened this summer. This month I hope I can step up my game.

I’ll be reading the following:

  1. Finish Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

This is my top priority, firstly because I’ve wanted to read this book for two years and because I couldn’t finish it last month. In this book, we follow Emma Carstairs’s and Julian Blackthorn’s stories, which happen years after the Dark War Clary and Jace took part on. I’m excited about going back to Cassie’s books, and also because she wrote the first accurate Mexican character I’ve read about.

  1. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

The Dark Prophecy came out in May, and I still haven’t started The Trials of Apollo series! I haven’t read much about this book so I wouldn’t get anything spoiled, so what I know is that Apollo will be turned into a normal teenage-human by Zeus as punishment. I love Rick Riordan’s books, so I’m very excited about this one.

  1. Start A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

A Song of Ice and Fire is one of my all-time favourite book series: and yes, I’m only on book 3. The world of George R.R. Martin gets more and more complex and interesting as the series advances. This being the longest book in the series contains lots of plot twists and, according so some of my friends, will change everything we know about Westeros. I’ll only be starting it this month, I’m sure I won’t be able to finish it.

  1. Reread Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling for book club

Who else joined the Pottermore book club? If you also did, you know these two-month’s read will be the second book of the Harry Potter series. I’m excited about it because as we reread them together, I’ve been able to notice and analyse what occurs during the books.

  1. Reread A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I have no idea how many times I’ve read this Sherlock Holmes novel. This time, however, I’ll be rereading it for school. And besides, I will have to watch Sherlock for the class, so I won’t complain.

  1. Civil War: A MARVEL comics event

I’ve recently started reading comic books. I’ve always loved superhero movies, the geeky culture, and I’ve done research about it. However, it’s not the same as reading it for yourself. And I’ve only read House of M! So, this time, I’ll be reading Civil War.

Leave a Reply

